About Chunwon Title

The Chunwon (also known as Chunweon and Korean Tengen) tournament is the successor to the Bacchus Cup and sponsored by Tong-a Che-yak (Far East Pharmaceuticals) and Mae-il Kyeong-che Sin-mun (Daily Economic newspaper). Komi is 6.5. Time limits are 5 hours each in the final, 4 hours in the main knockout and 3 hours in the preliminaries. The champion prize is 13 million South Korean Won (about US$ 11.3 thousands).

All editions of Chunwon Title

Type Edition Year Country First Place Second Place Details
title 7th 2002 Korea Song TaeKon Cho Hunhyun Games
title 6th 2001 Korea Park YuongHoon Yoon SeongHyun Games
title 5th 2000 Korea Lee Sedol Ryoo JaeHyeong Games
title 4th 1999 Korea Lee Changho Seo Bongsoo Games
title 3rd 1998 Korea Lee Changho Choi Myunghoon Games
title 2nd 1997 Korea Lee Changho Choi Myunghoon Games
title 1st 1996 Korea Yoo Changhyeok Cho Hunhyun Games
title 8th 2003 Korea Choi Cheolhan Won SeongJin Games
title 9th 2004 Korea Choi Cheolhan An DalHoon Games
title 10th 2005 Korea Ko geuntae Park Jeonggeun Games
title 11th 2006 Korea Jo HanSeung Lee Sedol Games
title 12th 2007 Korea Won SeongJin Kang Doonyoon Games
title 13th 2008 Korea Kang Doonyoon Lee Sedol Games
title 14th 2009 Korea Park Junghwan Kim Jisuk Games
title 15th Korea Games