About Fujitsu Cup

The Fujitsu Cup World Go Championship is sponsored by Fujitsu/The Yomiuri Newspaper of Japan and it is the oldest fully international event. In term 1, there are only 16 players. After term 1, it is increased to 24 players, the place allocation are the top three in last term plus 7 from Japan, 5 from China, 4 from Korea, 2 from Taiwan, 1 from North America, 1 from South America, and 1 from Europe. Eight top players selected on the basis of tournament results will be seeded into round 2, while the other sixteen compete in round 1. Thereafter it is a straight knockout tournament. Komi is 5.5 points with Japanese rules. Time limits are 3 hours each with 1 minute overtime. The champion prize is 15 million Japanese Yen (about US$ 142 thousands).

All editions of Fujitsu Cup

Type Edition Year Country First Place Second Place Details
title 9th 1996 Lee Changho Ma Xiaochun Games
title 11th 1998 Lee Changho Chang Hao Games
title 1st 1988 Takemiya Masaki Rin Kaiho Games
title 2nd 1989 Takemiya Masaki Rin Kaiho Games
title 3rd 1990 Rin Kaiho Nie Weiping Games
title 4th 1991 Cho Chikun Qian Yuping Games
title 5th 1992 Otake Hideo O Rissei Games
title 6th 1993 Yoo Changhyeok Cho Hunhyun Games
title 7th 1994 Cho Hunhyun Yoo Changhyeok Games
title 8th 1995 Ma Xiaochun Kobayashi Koichi Games
title 10th 1997 Kobayashi Koichi O Rissei Games
title 12th 1999 Yoo Changhyeok Ma Xiaochun Games
title 13th 2000 Cho Hunhyun Chang Hao Games
title 14th 2001 Cho Hunhyun Choi MyungHoon Games
title 15th 2002 Lee Sedol Yoo Changhyeok Games
title 16th 2003 Lee Sedol Song TaeKon Games
title 17th 2004 Park YuongHoon Yoda Norimoto Games
title 18th 2005 Lee Sedol Choi Cheolhan Games
title 19th 2006 Park Jungsang Zhou Heyang Games
title 20th 2007 Park YuongHoon Lee Changho Games
title 21th 2008 Gu Li Lee Changho Games
title 22th 2009 Kang Doonyoon Lee Changho Games
title 23th 2010 Kong Jie Lee Sedol Games
title 24th 2011 Park Junghwan Qiu Jun Games