About GS Caltex Cup

The GS Caltex Cup (formerly the LG Refined Oil Cup) is sponsored by LG-Caltex Oil Corporation and the Mae-il Kyeong-che Sin-mun (Daily Economic News), and so far it is the highest-rank Go tournament in Korea. The main tournament is a 16-man knockout culminating in a best-of-five final. Komi is 6.5 points. Time limit is 4 hours each in regular time and 5 times 1 minute in overtime. The champion prize is 50 million Won (about US$ 42.8 thousands).

All editions of GS Caltex Cup

Type Edition Year Country First Place Second Place Details
title 10th 2005 Korea Choi Cheolhan Lee Changho Games
title 11th 2006 Korea Lee Sedol Choi Cheolhan Games
title 12th 2007 Korea Park YuongHoon Lee Sedol Games
title 13th 2008 Korea Park YuongHoon Won SeongJin Games
title 14th 2009 Korea Jo HanSeung Park YuongHoon Games
title 15th 2010 Korea Won SeongJin Jo HanSeung Games
title 16th Korea Games