About LG Cup

The LG Cup (also known as the LG Cup World Baduk Championship) is sponsored by the LG Group of Korea. The Cup is the international successor to the domestic Kiwang tournament. Players are invited to a knockout, in term 1 the make up was 32 players but is now 24 from Korea (11), Japan (6), China (4), Taiwan (1), USA (1) and Europe (1). The final uses best-of-5 format, time limits are 3 hours each. Komi was 5.5 points in terms 1 and 2 but it is increased to 6.5 points afterwards. The champion prize is 200 million South Korean Won (about US$ 169 thousands), and the runner-up gets 50 million South Korean Won. The total prize fund is 1 billion South Korean Won.

All editions of LG Cup

Type Edition Year Country First Place Second Place Details
title 6th 2002 Yoo Changhyeok Cho Hunhyun Games
title 5th 2001 Lee Changho Lee Sedol Games
title 4th 2000 Yu Bin Yoo Changhyeok Games
title 3rd 1999 Lee Changho Ma Xiaochun Games
title 2nd 1998 O Rissei Yoo Changhyeok Games
title 1st 1997 Lee Changho Yoo Changhyeok Games
title 7th 2003 Lee Sedol Lee Changho Games
title 8th 2004 Lee Changho Mok Jinseok Games
title 9th 2005 Cho U Yu Bin Games
title 10th 2006 Gu Li Chen Yaoye Games
title 11th 2007 Zhou Junxun Hu Yaoyu Games
title 12th 2008 Lee Sedol Han Sanghoon Games
title 13th 2009 Gu Li Lee Sedol Games
title 14th 2010 Kong Jie Lee Changho Games
title 15th 2011 Piao Wenyao Kong Jie Games
title 15th Games
title 16th Games
title 17th Korea Games
tournament_pro 18 2013 Korea Games