About NEC Tournament

The Japanese NEC tournament is sponsored by NEC Corp., it is a fast game tournament. the champion prize is 15 million Japanese Yen (about US$ 135 thousands), the prize of runner-up is 7.5 million Yen. Its prize money is the fourth highest only next to Kisei, Meijin and Honinbo in Japan. All sixteen participates are the Japanese strongest, including seven major tournament champions (Kisei, Meijin, Honinbo, Judan, Tengen, Oza and Gosei), NHK Cup and JAL Fast Game champions, NEC Cup New Pro champion and the top finishers in last term of this tournament.

All editions of NEC Tournament

Type Edition Year Country First Place Second Place Details
title 20th 2000 Japan Cho Chikun Kato Masao Games
title 19th 1999 Japan Cho Chikun Kato Masao Games
title 18th 1998 Japan Kobayashi Satoru O Rissei Games
title 17th 1997 Japan Yoda Norimoto Cho Chikun Games
title 16th 1996 Japan Kato Masao Kobayashi Satoru Games
title 15th 1995 Japan Otake Hideo Rin Kaiho Games
title 14th 1994 Japan Kobayashi Koichi Cho Chikun Games
title 13th 1993 Japan Komatsu Hideki Cho Chikun Games
title 12th 1992 Japan Yoda Norimoto Kato Masao Games
title 11th 1991 Japan Kato Masao Kobayashi Koichi Games
title 10th 1990 Japan Kato Masao Otake Hideo Games
title 9th 1989 Japan Rin Kaiho O Rissei Games
title 8th 1988 Japan Otake Hideo Ishida Yoshio Games
title 7th 1987 Japan Ishida Yoshio Cho Chikun Games
title 6th 1986 Japan Otake Hideo Rin Kaiho Games
title 5th 1985 Japan Takemiya Masaki Kobayashi Satoru Games
title 4th 1984 Japan Cho Chikun Kobayashi Koichi Games
title 3rd 1983 Japan Cho Chikun Sakata Eio Games
title 2nd 1982 Japan Sakata Eio Sakai Takeshi Games
title 1st 1981 Japan Takemiya Masaki Otake Hideo Games
title 21th 2002 Japan Yoda Norimoto O Rissei Games
title 22th 2003 Japan Ryu Shikun Takao Shinji Games
title 23th 2004 Japan Kobayashi Koichi Mimura Tomoyasu Games
title 24th 2005 Japan Cho U Ryu Shikun Games
title 25th 2006 Japan Cho Sonjin Kobayashi Satoru Games
title 26th 2007 Japan Cho U Takao Shinji Games
title 27th 2008 Japan Kono Rin Cho Sonjin Games
title 28th 2009 Japan Hane Naoki Cho U Games
title 29th 2010 Japan Kono Rin Hane Naoki Games
title 30th 2011 Japan Cho U Yamashita Keigo Games
title 55th Japan Games